Collab videos start here.
Leverage each others audience...

Why Join?
I'm looking for a
in
for
Advanced Search Options

October, 2014

Lan Bui’s phone call with Shane Hurlbut, ASC about Illumination Experience Tour

Ever since I heard about the Illumination Experience Tour that Shane Hurlbut, ASC was doing I couldn’t wait to talk to him about it. I’ve always thought that anyone that wanted to do any job should physically go do it. And in order to know what it’s like to really make movies, I thought it was always best to be on set.

In the past the best advice I could give was to somehow get on set on some movie and watch how things are done.

I did this by shooting behind the scenes on TV, films and lots of indie productions. It was the easiest way to move around and find out how things were done on set and talk to all the different department heads to find out what they do.

This is not that easy to do though, people ask me to visit my sets all the time and I try to let as many people as possible, but usually I just can’t let everyone come.

Here is where I thought Shane’s tour would be something very useful. It is a tour where you get to be in an intimate environment with someone that is shooting multi million dollar films and you get hands on experience.

Take a look at the website for all the details, listen to our phone conversation, and if you are serious about learning from someone that makes big movies you should make sure you get your seat in one of the following cities:

Saturday, October 04/Sunday, October 05 WASHINGTON, D.C.
Tuesday, October 07 DETROIT
Thursday, October 09 BOSTON
Saturday, October 11/Sunday, October 12 BROOKLYN
Tuesday, October 14/Wednesday, October 15 TORONTO
Saturday, October 18/Sunday, October 19 CHICAGO
Tuesday, October 21 MINNEAPOLIS
Saturday, October 23 DENVER
Saturday, October 25 SEATTLE
Thursday, October 30 PORTLAND
Sunday, November 02 VANCOUVER
Tuesday, November 04 SALT LAKE CITY
Thursday, November 06 SACRAMENTO
Saturday, November 08/Sunday, November 09 SAN FRANCISCO
Tuesday, November 11 SAN JOSE
Thursday, November 13 SAN DIEGO
Saturday, November 15/Sunday, November 16 LA/BURBANK
Monday, November 17 LA/BURBANK